2017 NJC Spring Stakes Field, Barriers & Odds


There are actually two races in Australia called the Spring Stakes – one at Morphettville Racecourse and another at Newcastle Racecourse in Spring. Both are Group 3 races, but the earlier Spring Stakes are a 1200 metre sprint, while the Newcastle Spring Stakes are a longer affair at 1600 metres. These races are quite popular with bettors at Ladbrokes.com.au and the time between them means you can place a decent wager on both Spring Stakes races.

Morphettville Spring Stakes

The 2017 SAJC Spring Stakes will be held on August 19th.Spring Stakes

Special Offer:
Get up to $500 in Bonus Bet* from Ladbrokes

According to HorseRacing.com.au, one of the few days at the scenic Morphettville Racecourse during August is the Spring Stakes Day.

Bettors, spectators and racing enthusiasts always anticipate this event as one of the major races on the South Australian racing calendar and after weeks of intense and exhilarating racing the Spring Stakes provides punters with one last betting opportunity!

The Spring Stakes is a 1200m sprint run under weight-for-age conditions in early August, and is the first weight-for-age event in the season for Adelaide.

There are plenty of races held earlier in the carnival that provide punters with an excellent opportunity to gauge the form and chances of the entries for the Spring Stakes. Events like the Group 3 Irwin Stakes (1100m), also a weight-for-age event, are essential viewing prior to placing your Spring Stakes bets.

Horses who ran in the Spring Stakes in Adelaide may continue their season by competing in some of the famous and highly regarded Melbourne Spring Carnival events such as the Group 2 Memsie Stakes (1400m).

Really well performing entries may then move on to the very lucrative and more challenging weight-for-age events like the Group 2 Makybe Diva Stakes (1600m) and the Group 2 Dato Tan Chin Nam Stakes (1600m) held at Flemington and Moonee Valley in early September.

Upcoming Races

Group 1

2017 Cox Plate


Moonee Valley



Group 1

2017 Caulfield Cup




3YO up Handicap

Group 1

Caulfield Stakes





Group 1

Toorak Handicap




Open Handicup

Group 1

Manikato Stakes


Moonee Valley



Group 1

Melbourne Cup





Spotting the dominant horses in the Spring Stakes is a great way to increase your chances of betting success in these Victorian Spring Carnival events that offer huge betting prize pools!

The most successful horse in the Spring Stakes was Redelva who claimed victory in three consecutive years, 1988, 1989 and 1990. The event was first run by the South Australia Jockey Club (SAJC) in 1970 as a principal race over six furlongs. It was converted to a metric distance of 1200m in 1972 and saw a length and status increase in 1979 to 1350m, Group 2 event. The race distance went back down to 1200m in 1981 and the Spring Stakes was demoted to a Group 3 event in 1998.

This is your last chance to clean out the bookies in the Adelaide Carnival, so make the most of it and place your wager on the Spring Stakes today! All major Australian bookmakers offer their full range of bet types on the Spring Stakes and there is plenty of value to be found if you follow the form of the runners and keep a close eye on the odds offered. And get ready for the 2017 Melbourne Cup to kick off in just a few months (7th of November, 2017).

Race Details

Date: 19th August, 2017

Location: Morphettville Racecourse, Adelaide

Race Status: Group 3

Track Distance: 1200m

Race Conditions: Weight-for-age

Prizemoney: $120,000

Inaugurated: 1970

Newcastle Spring Stakes

The Newcastle Spring Stakes is a 1600 metre race for 3 year olds at set weights, run in the middle of September on a Wednesday. It is held as part of the Newcastle Carnival, and it tends to draw a field of surprising quality. The best horses are often aimed at richer events that are also run around the same time, so trainers after less of a challenge will often aim a good-but-not-great runner at the Newcastle Spring Stakes.

Recent winners of the Newcastle Spring Stakes include Sweynesse in 2014, Darci Be Good in 2011, Ilovethiscity in 2010, Lovemelikearock in 2009, Sousa in 2008, Mearas in 2006, and Hotel Grand in 2005. The race was not held in 2007 due to the outbreak of equine influenza. The Newcastle Spring Stakes shares its race program with the Group 3 Cameron Handicap.

Race Details

Date: 11th February, 2017

Location: Newcastle Racecourse, New South Wales

Race Status: Group 3

Track Distance: 1600m

Race Conditions: 3YO Set Weights

Prizemoney: $150,000

Spring Stakes News

Twelve runners have been confirmed in the final field for Saturday’s 2016 Spring Stakes (1200m) at Morphettville Racecourse; offering punters exceptional value from a betting standpoint and several key opportunities to place a winning wager. Neither Sooboog nor Beirut are yet to herald much interest in 2016 Spring Stakes betting…